Patria Patria (homeland) is the title of a cycle of music dramas by Canadian composer R. Murray Schafer. At the present time, ten parts of this monumental undertaking have been performed and published. Further works are in various states of creation, but enough has already been presented to reveal the series as among the most radical and challenging works to be produced within the past half century.

"There is nothing like Patria in the history of Canadian musical theatre, either in ambition, scope or mythmaking potency"

William Littler, Toronto Star September 16, 2002



Here is an overview with a brief description of each work.

Arcana Editions

Online catalogue of scores books & recordings

imagelink IMAGES


R. MURRAY SCHAFER: 1933-2021

Murray - Asterion 2005

Asterion 2005

Diana and I are forever grateful for the opportunity to have worked with Murray as designers of the Patria Cycle and to have known him as a friend for forty years.

Murray has inspired, awed, provoked and brought great joy to countless people over the course of a truly astonishing career.

Jerrard Smith


For 40 years, [Murray Schafer] has been writing a huge cycle of 12 music-theater works, collectively titled "Patria." Larger than Wagner's "Ring" cycle or Karlheinz Stockhausen's "Licht," this cycle challenges the boundaries of both music and theater. 
Colin Eatock New York Times August 27, 2005

The most wildly imaginative and physically ambitious series of music theatre works in the history of the Canadian stage.

William Littler, Toronto Star




last update:
August 2021

to top of page


Asterion: A Journey through the Labyrinth